WHY Write and WHAT To Write About?

Get answers by borrowing my 3-step plan

Elin Melaas
2 min readMay 8, 2022
Drawing over skills and passions
Image created by the author, using Canva.

Define your WHY, explore your skills and passions, and research trends to get closer to becoming a successful digital writer.

Are you dreaming about becoming a digital writer but are still unsure about your why and what? You and me both then. However, I will try to find some answers. I’ve created an action plan inspired by this podcast episode from The Side Hustle Show.

1) Why write?

You should define why you write. If not, it will be easy to quit writing when the strenuous days are coming.

My why:
I hate that if I want to make money, I can’t decide how to spend my time. I want to become a digital writer to be flexible about when to work. As a bonus: to do something I like.

“A person is a fool to become a writer. His only compensation is absolute freedom. He has no master except his own soul, and that, I am sure, is why he does it”
— Roald Dahl

➡️ Why do you write?

2) Skills and passions

What do you find in the intersection between your skills and your passions?

As for my skills, I know I’m a good learner, and I think I’m good at teaching…

--

--

Elin Melaas

Books, reading, health, parenting, and coffee 📚 MSc in Medical Physics and BSc in Nutrition. Editor at Illumination. Owner of Hooked on Books.